Current DM’s Guild Pricing Trends – Sept 2019

As I’m getting closer to having my Great Dale campaign guide released for on the DM’s Guild, I wanted to think a bit on how to price this book. I invested a good amount of funds in this effort to commission new art, purchase stock art, and to pay for the services of a skilled graphic layout individual. I don’t want to overprice the book, but I do want to recover my investment within a reasonable amount of time.

As such, I decided to take a look at the current top most popular DM’s Guild products to see how they have priced their .pdf’s. Here are two charts came up with:

Do these rates adequately compensate the people who’ve invested their time and money to craft these productions? That’s hard to answer as each product included in the data-set are very different, representing a wide spectrum of time and dollar investments by their creators.

I suspect these graphs look different than a couple years ago when the DMsGuild started. As a small creator, I am encouraged to see a majority of the offerings are now north of $0.10/pg, but I suspect these rates still greatly undervalue the time spent by many of the Guild’s creators.

About the scheming dm

dad. husband. gamer. human Zamboni. trying to squeeze money from electrons.
This entry was posted in DMs Guiild, pricing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Current DM’s Guild Pricing Trends – Sept 2019

  1. Pingback: DMs Guild Pricing Snapshot – July 2020 | the scheming dm

  2. Pingback: Justice’s Guide to The DMs Guild – Justice Arman

  3. Pingback: DMsGuild Pricing Snapshot – Sept 2021 | the scheming dm

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.