Joe’s Year in Review – 2022

I’m amazed to look at this site and realize I haven’t updated it in over a year. And for me, what a year it’s been!

At the end of 2021, I was diving head-first into full-time freelance in the RPG industry. I’d just finished a very successful DMsGuild Project – Rashemen, and I was busy working on several projects, getting my hands dirty with writing, editing, and layout work. During the year, I’d been lucky to work with such companies as Daylight Publications, Eldermancy, Ghostfire Gaming, Goodman Games, Gooey Cube, Onyx Path Publishing, and World of Game Design.

Then 2022 arrived with a blazing start as I completed some layout projects and finished three freelance writing assignments. I was shocked when Phil Beckwith of Ghostfire Gaming contacted me, asking if I’d be interested in working on Fables, their monthly adventure subscription service. How could I say no?!?! I joined Ghostfire at the end of March and have been busy with them ever since.

What a joyous whirlwind of RPG goodness!

I’ve worked with a host of truly talented folks, getting to see the publication process of a first-class RPG gaming company. I shepherded Fables Season 2 – Pirates of the Aetherial Expanse into production. It’s an incredible adventure campaign created by the uber-talented James J. Haeck.

With 2023 approaching, I’m looking expectantly toward the release of Season 3 – Agents of the Empire, my first full campaign as head of Fables.

Podcasts

I was delighted to be a guest on several podcasts in 2022, including the Geeks’ Cant, Making a Monster (ep11), and Eldritch Lorecast (#35 and #63). I’m looking forward to more of these opportunities in the future.

So what’s coming in 2023?

I’m busy finalizing Fables Season 3, and I’ve kicked-off Season 4’s development. We’ve got a bunch of exciting changes coming for the monthly issues, and I can’t wait to share them later this summer.

Where Can You Find Me in 2023?

This year I had the pleasure of attending a lot of the gaming conventions I’d always dreamed of going to including Gary Con, Origins, Gencon, and Gamehole Con. I even got to be a guest on several creator panels at these conventions.

Although I haven’t finalized my attendance for the coming year but I expect to be at the following conventions and hope to attend a few others not yet on this list:

That’s it for now! Hopefully, it won’t be quite so long between this and my next post. Take care and hope you have a great 2023!

About the scheming dm

dad. husband. gamer. human Zamboni. trying to squeeze money from electrons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.